DAMSELS IN DISTRESS by WHIT STILLMAN

I fully enjoyed this, closely after fully enjoying “Metropolitan.” Stillman is now a Solid 2-for-2 with me, and that’s damn good. I might have heard “Damsels” was underwhelming considering his 15 year hiatus, but I completely enjoyed it. That scathing, witty Whit Writing is fully on display. I can’t even think of a point of reference. And here, the tone was even more Silly and Screwball and Farcical than with Metropolitan, and I didn’t mind that one bit. Just Silly Feelgood Innocent Power Of Cinema times. Indeed the movie did not feeeeeeeel 2012 at all, it hearkens back to a Better time. Even if it starts a Contemporary Decadent Harpy in Greta Gerwig. SWPL Leftist Sluts playing the the WASP Righty Preppy’s movie. But I begrudgingly like Greta sorta like I begrudgingly like Lena Dunham, and Greta is much more bonable, AND I think she’s Catholic to boot. (Not that her Promiscuity hasn’t gotten her unforgiveably excommunicated!) But she plays her role in DiD very nicely. The College Girls are all Nonpromiscuous, Prim and Proper Traditionalists almost. Not used to that.

But there are a BOATLOAD of jokes about Privileged College Students being Depressed and Suicidal and Committing Suicide all the time, and I liked how frivolously that was painted, would certainly anger the Mental Health Stigma Communist Community, which is not an angle that’s often played, esp in movies. In DiD the Wimmin were portrayed as the Superior Sex in all ways: moraler, smarter, more refined, than the men, all of whom are caricatured as boorish monosyllabic barbarianz. When of course it’s the complete opposite that is the truth. Nothing like a Smart Man writing the characters and dialogue of Virtuous, Good Traditional Women. A Wimmin could not WRITE Women like this. Which made it all the funnier. All the main characters are Women but they’re not anything like the Real Life Women You know, they’re actually fun and funny and likeable, well that’s because they were written by The Respectable Whit Stillman.

I look forward to watching “Barcelona” soon and then “Last Days of Disco” soon after that. Got a unique style that is hilarious and great and fun which I can get into without reservation, beyond me wishing he’d do a comedy of manners of SWPL Leftist Brahminz than Rightist (Or at least Neoconnish) Preppy OPTIMATES, is essentially what these preppies are – Moldbug’s DYING Breed. But they are an amusing bunch. Also I liked the music in DiD, added to it quite nicely. Used the same composer from Metropolitan. Whit takes care of his people. I feeeeel he wants to save money by not buying overpriced rights to songs, and just has his composer write corny knock-offs, but these corny knock-offs IMHO work better than Actual Songs – I’m thinking of the scene in the diner in DiD, where Greta shares the Soap that Saved Her From Suicide. After the movie was over I went back and watched that scene. She was adorable, the Token Black Blue-Collars were good, AND the waitress was played by none other than Audrey from Metropolitan. Carolyn Farina. I knew she appeared in this and I was looking for her, but I missed her, because she did not age well AT ALL. I wept for All Femininity because of that. She didn’t look HORRIBLE, but the before and after are PERFECTLY illustrative of The Fall From The Prime Of Youth.

Nice sophisticated, smart, and not at ALL serious comedy. I really like this “screwball” aspect I’m seeing in Stillman. He’s not so pseudointellectual that he takes his work Tooo Seriously. In fact he doesn’t take it seriously at all and thus the entire movie has a “BOUYANCY” which lifts it above The Average Movie in Heart, Feelgoodness, and overall Quality. I gave Metro a full-blown A and I’m tempted to give this one a Full Blown A too, in fact, in some ways I liked it even MORE: just because a Bourgeois College Campus is more familiar and amenable to me than Preppy Optimate 1980s Manhattan, and I liked seeing a movie like this so out-of-time in 2012. But DiD is prob not as “IMPORTANT” as Metro, but it’s definitely a lot less underwhelming than I expected. So I’ll give it an “A” that is MARGINALLY LESS FULL-BLOWN than the Full-Blown “A” I gave to Metropolitan.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.